United Kingdom

This page gives a brief overview of the international activity of UK osteopathic organisations and key contacts on international matters.




Institute of Osteopathy

Member of the European Federation of Osteopaths and Osteopathic International Alliance, with place on Board.


Maurice Cheng (Chief Executive): maurice@osteopathy.org

Robin Lansman (President) 




Osteopathic Development Group:


Formed in 2012, the Osteopathic Development Group is a national intiative designed to bring the profession together for the long-term development of osteopathy through eight key strategic projects. The ODG is made up of the Council for Osteopathic Educational Institutions, General Osteopathic Council, Institute of Osteopathy, National Council for Osteopathic Research and the Osteopathic Alliance. For more information about the ODG and its work see: www.osteodevelopment.org.uk



Osteopathic Educational Foundation:


Maurice Hills






General Osteopathic Council

Member of the Forum for Osteopathic Regulation in Europe and the Osteopathic International Alliance.


Tim Walker (Chief Executive): twalker@osteopathy.org.uk

Sarah Eldred (Commuications Manager): seldred@osteopathy.org.uk



In April 2016 the UK's General Osteopathic Council signed a Memorandum of Understanding with the Osteopathy Board of Australia, Osteopathic Council of New Zealand and the Australasian Osteopathic Accreditation Council in order to 'promote the exchange of information, streamline regulatory processes, share best practice and related activities between international regulators of the osteopathic profession.'



Research organisation/s:


National Council for Osteopathic Research

Dawn Carnes (Director): d.carnes@qmul.ac.uk

Also Chair of the International Osteopathic Research Network

Links with peer networks including the Commission for Osteopathic Research, Practice and Promotion (CORPP), the Centre for Osteopathic Medicine Collaboration (COME), the European Federation of Osteopaths (EFO), the Forum for Osteopathic Regulation in Europe (FORE), the International Conference on Advances in Osteopathic Research (ICAOR), the Osteopathic Research Center (ORC) and the Osteopathic European Academic Network (OsEAN).




Undergraduate and postgraduate training providers:


British College of Osteopathic Medicine

Links with schools in Europe and Australasia.

Coordinates International Conference on Advances in Osteopathic Research (ICAOR) held every two years across the world.


Manoj Mehta: manojm@bcom.ac.uk




British School of Osteopathy

Member of the Osteopathic International Alliance.

Memoranda of Understanding with a number of institutions including the Anglo-European College of Chiropractic, Institute of Osteopathy Norwegian University College of Health Sciences, AT Still University in Kirksville, Escuela Espanola de Formacion Osteopatica, Ecole Superieure d'Osteopathie, Institut des Hautes Etudes Osteopathiques, Istituto Superiore Osteopatia.


Charles Hunt (Principal, Chief Excecutive and Board Member of the Osteopathic International Alliance): c.hunt@bso.ac.uk

Stephen Tyreman (Prof Doc course leader and Member of European Society for Philosophy of Medicine and Health Care): s.tyreman@bso.ac.uk

Steven Vogel (Vice Principal - Research, International Journal of Osteopathic Medicine Editor and international lecturer): s.vogel@bso.ac.uk

Jorge Esteves (Head of Research Qualifications): j.esteves@bso.ac.uk




College of Osteopaths

Pat Hamilton: p.hamilton@collegeofosteopaths.ac.uk




European School of Osteopathy

Member of the Osteopathic European Academic Network and Osteopathic International Alliance. Large faculty teaching in Europe.


Charles Bruford (Principal): charlesbruford@eso.ac.uk




Foundation for Paediatric Osteopathy

Close links with postgraduate teaching clinics concerned with paediatric osteopath in Vienna and San Marino.


Stuart Korth: stuart.korth@btinternet.com

Nancy Nunn: nancynunnosteopath@gmail.com




Institute of Classical Osteopathy

Affiliations with a number of overseas organisations and schools, in particular the Spanish Institute of Classical Osteopathy, Japanese Institute of Classical Osteopathy,  Japanese Association of Classical Osteopathy, Canadian Academy of Osteopathy, European Institute of Classical Osteopathy and Italian Association of Classical Osteopathy.


Henry Lee (Chairman): henrylee@dsl.pipex.com




London School of Osteopathy

Memorandum of Understanding with El Instituto de Osteopatia de Valencia.


Fiona Hamilton (Principal): hamilton.f@lso.ac.uk

General queries: info@lso.ac.uk




Molinari Institute of Health

Links with the Osteopathic European Academic Network and a small South America group of organisations in Brazil, Colombia, Argentina, Peru and Chile seeking to create a federation to push for improved standards of education.


Renzo Molinari: renzo.molinari@gmail.com




Osteopathic Pelvic, Respiratory and Abdominal Association

Kelston Chorley: kelstonchorley@msn.com




Society of Osteopaths in Animal Practice

Dustie Houchin (Chair): animalosteopaths@gmail.com



Surrey Institute of Osteopathic Medicine

Links with the International College of Osteopathic Medicine in Milan.


Marcus Walia: mwalia@nescot.ac.uk

Arianne Nolan: anolan@nescot.ac.uk




Sutherland Cranial College

Run courses for qualified osteopaths in Germany and Spain. Osteopaths travel from Russia, Austria, Finland, Norway and Sweden to attend their courses.


Susan Farwell (Chair): susan.osteopath@gmail.com




Sutherland Society

Informal links with both Spain and Finland.


Christian Sullivan: enquiries@churchstreetpractice.co.uk


Print Print | Sitemap
© Osteopathic Development Group